Finale

October 16, 2008 at 10:23 am (Kenley Collins, Project Runway) (, , , , , , , , )

I was a little underwhelmed by the Project Runway season finale. It felt a little flat after all the emotion of the previous episodes.

I had seen photos of the final collections on-line before the show, and felt that Leanne was likely to win due to the varied (but still cohesive) nature of what she presented. Plus, the clothes seemed meticulously made– they all moved gorgeously on the runway.

I thought Korto’s line was smashing and represented her point of view well. But it didn’t always have the editing hand of Leanne, and the ruffled pieces felt overworked. I liked (but didn’t love the way the judges loved) the green evening dress. The second full strap looked off-kilter to me; I would have like it better without the second strap, and just one piece covering the entire bodice attached to the necklace. I loved the one-shouldered taupe dress she made in New York to replace her wedding dress.

I didn’t dislike Kenley’s collection, although they’re not garments I’d personally wear. She is enormously creative and has a definite point of view. I (like Tim Gunn) wasn’t a big fan of the tugboat rope. But most of all, I disliked that 9 of her 10 looks were dresses, and the tenth look was a blouse and skirt. No other separates, no pants, no jackets, nothing. I love a pretty dress as much as the next gal, but nine cocktail dresses don’t a complete wardrobe make.

This morning, I looked at the Balenciaga collection and, unless I am not looking at the right dress, the similarity between Kenley’s dress and this Balenciaga’s Spring 2008 ready to wear dress is minimal. Sure, there are similarities in the sleeves and the general floral print, but I think Kenley’s dress stands as a distinctively different piece.

Leave a Reply

